Advanced Protection Systems: radar products and counter-drone customer programmes
APS’s radar and software business, Poland’s SAN procurement role and PLN450 million financing package, with workforce and turnover evidence kept in scope.
Advanced Protection Systems, usually abbreviated to APS, is a Polish radar and counter-drone company with a documented position in the country's SAN procurement programme. Its importance to the defence market comes from supplying both sensors and the software that connects a wider system. For a prospective partner, APS can therefore be a customer, an integrator and a competitor, depending on the scope of the opportunity.
The public record available on 7 September 2026 establishes a substantial programme role, an institutional minority investor and a bank financing package. It does not disclose APS's share of the full SAN contract or a verified current turnover figure. Keeping those distinctions intact is essential to understanding the business.
Ownership and corporate identity
Enterprise Investors lists APS in its portfolio under Enterprise Investors Fund IX, with an investment year of 2023 and a significant minority share. Its profile identifies founders Maciej Klemm and Radosław Piesiewicz and dates their radar and software development activity to 2015. The disclosure supports an investor-backed private business description; it does not establish majority control by the fund or a precise ownership percentage. Enterprise Investors portfolio record.
APS's current corporate page identifies Klemm as CEO, Piesiewicz as COO and Bartłomiej Kowalczyk as CFO. The company supplies its Polish registration number, KRS 0000743881, and headquarters in Gdynia, with a separate Warsaw office. This identity matters because searches for the English company name also return unrelated businesses abroad. APS corporate overview.
For an industrial relationship, the investor connection is relevant to governance and growth financing, while the operating company remains the entity to qualify for a supply agreement. A fund's involvement is not a substitute for checking the contracting entity, its payment arrangements or the responsibilities attached to the particular programme.
Employee count and turnover
APS's entry in the Polish Defence and Security Equipment Catalogue 2024 describes a team of more than 150 experts across technical, military and business functions. BDI records this as a historical company workforce disclosure from the 2024 catalogue, with no precise measurement day. It is not a confirmed September 2026 employee total. Government-hosted catalogue, printed pages 195–196.
Standalone turnover remains unverified in this profile. Public business directories offer varying estimates, but those are not a sound basis for an exact revenue graphic. The figures that can be substantiated concern procurement and financing, which have different meanings. A company may need substantial guarantees before a long delivery programme produces recognised revenue; the credit facility itself is not a sale.
The workforce disclosure is useful for understanding the company's historical organisational scale. It cannot establish today's available engineering capacity or production throughput. Those questions require newer evidence, particularly when an existing supplier takes on a programme much larger than its earlier contracts.
The product business: radars, systems and software
APS presents three principal product families: FIELDctrl radars, SKYctrl counter-drone systems and CyView command and control software. Its website also offers installation, configuration and training. That product structure explains why a comparison limited to the price of a radar would miss part of APS's commercial offer. APS product overview.
A complete system purchase can include equipment from multiple suppliers, software integration, delivery work and continuing support. A radar-only order leaves more of that responsibility with the buyer or another integrator. For a prospective APS supplier, the relevant question is which layer the company intends to retain and where it needs an outside contribution.
BDI's DroneShield profile is a useful comparison of a different counter-drone supplier's disclosed business. Our SAPIENT interface guide addresses why integration requirements can influence procurement. These comparisons help define the scope of a commercial proposal; they do not rank systems by battlefield performance.
From a teaming agreement to SAN
Kongsberg announced a teaming agreement with APS on 29 July 2025. The partners intended to pursue counter-drone opportunities together, initially focusing on Poland and Norway, and combine their respective capabilities in proposed solutions. At that stage, the announcement established a collaboration framework rather than a government order. Kongsberg teaming announcement.
A different category of evidence followed on 30 January 2026. Poland's defence ministry identified a signed SAN agreement between the Armaments Agency and a consortium led by Polska Grupa Zbrojeniowa with Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace. The ministry named APS as a key subcontractor. Polish defence ministry SAN record.
Kongsberg's announcement valued its own contract at approximately NOK16 billion and described APS as PGZ's subcontractor for the tailored command and control architecture. That supplier-specific value belongs to Kongsberg. It is not APS's order intake and cannot be reassigned to APS because both companies appear in the same announcement. Kongsberg contract announcement.
The sequence offers a practical business-development lesson: the formal industrial relationship preceded the public procurement milestone. Suppliers looking for a role in the next programme need to understand the partner structure before relying on the headline award as the start of the sales process.
What the programme value establishes
Poland's prime minister's office described the overall SAN order at approximately PLN15 billion net, covering 18 batteries, and said the first elements were expected in 2026. That January announcement is evidence of the programme's scale and planned delivery timing, not proof that the first deliveries have since been accepted. Government signing announcement.
APS's own SAN page identifies SanView software and FIELDctrl products within its contribution. The page's prominent €3.6 billion headline concerns the wider programme; it does not disclose an APS subcontract value. BDI therefore treats the supplier role as established while leaving its individual order amount unknown. APS SAN overview.
For market sizing, this prevents a major distortion. Counting the full programme value against every named participant would multiply the apparent market several times. A useful record separates the contracting authority, prime consortium, disclosed supplier amounts and unnamed work packages, preserving uncertainty where the documents do not allocate the money.
Financing the delivery obligation
On 28 May 2026, Bank Pekao announced PLN450 million of financing for APS through a consortium including Pekao, mBank and Bank Millennium. It described guarantee lines and a revolving working-capital facility, plus an additional uncommitted tranche of up to PLN150 million. The bank explicitly connected the financing with APS's SAN role. Bank Pekao financing announcement.
The distinction between committed facilities and an uncommitted additional tranche matters. Neither amount demonstrates cash already drawn, sales already earned or the profitability of the underlying work. BDI's assessment is that the package is a more informative signal of delivery preparation than an unsupported revenue estimate: it addresses financing associated with a real programme responsibility. A prospective subcontractor should still establish its own milestone payments and acceptance conditions; financing arranged for the prime delivery obligation does not automatically determine when an individual supplier will be paid.
The next commercial questions
APS markets to military customers, airports, infrastructure operators and public-event organisers, but its general deployments page does not itemise contracts and acceptance dates for each category. Treat that page as market positioning rather than a complete customer ledger. APS deployments overview.
The most useful follow-up evidence would identify accepted SAN deliveries, repeat orders, the division between equipment and support revenue, and updated financial or workforce disclosures. For a company seeking a relationship now, the priority is a precise proposed work package and a clear understanding of APS's integration responsibility. The verified opportunity is substantial; the company's exact economic share still needs disclosure.
Sources & evidence
- Enterprise Investors portfolio recordEnterprise Investors
- APS corporate overviewAdvanced Protection Systems
- Government-hosted catalogue, printed pages 195–196Polish Defence Industry government portal
- APS product overviewAdvanced Protection Systems
- Kongsberg teaming announcementKongsberg
- Polish defence ministry SAN recordPolish Ministry of National Defence
- Kongsberg contract announcementKongsberg
- Government signing announcementChancellery of the Prime Minister of Poland
- APS SAN overviewAdvanced Protection Systems
- Bank Pekao financing announcementBank Pekao
- APS deployments overviewAdvanced Protection Systems
Full public company, investor, partner, buyer and financing bodies read7September2026. Government PDF exceeded web size limit; public direct download and full APS profile printed195–196 inspected, including visual195. More-than150 team is historical2024 catalogue disclosure, not current payroll. Revenue unverified. EIF IX significant minority not majority. SAN whole-programmePLN15bn net, Kongsberg-specificNOK16bn and APS undisclosed amount kept separate. 2026first deliveries were January schedule, not acceptance. PLN450m facilities and up-to150m uncommitted tranche not revenue or proven drawdown. No operational performance claims adopted.
Suggest a correction