BDI

Defense technology.
Buyers, markets, opportunities.

Kraken reports a long-term subsea battery supply agreement for an unnamed UUV maker

The August agreement adds an unnamed vehicle manufacturer to Kraken’s battery customer base. Its factory expansion provides context, while purchase volumes and contract value remain undisclosed.

In this article
  1. The agreement sits within a wider battery business
  2. Manufacturing expansion provides a separate piece of evidence
  3. The acquisition changes comparisons between company totals
  4. Where the component supplier sits in the buying chain
  5. Sources & evidence

Kraken Robotics said on 27 August 2026 that it had signed a long-term master supply agreement to provide subsea batteries to an international conglomerate developing extra-large uncrewed underwater vehicles. The customer is unnamed, and the announcement does not disclose a contract value, minimum purchase volume or delivery schedule.

The agreement is a useful industrial signal because it places Kraken inside another company’s vehicle supply chain. It does not identify a government purchase of those vehicles. For businesses following the underwater autonomy market, the distinction separates a component relationship from the platform programmes that may eventually create demand.

The agreement sits within a wider battery business

The August disclosure appears in Kraken’s second-quarter results. It describes the customer as a major international conglomerate developing XL-UUVs and says Kraken will supply pressure-tolerant subsea batteries. Those are the disclosed facts about the new relationship.

Earlier in the year, Kraken announced C$35 million in battery sales to three unnamed customers. That 13 January release provides evidence of battery orders, but it does not establish that any of the three customers is the counterparty named only by description in August. Combining the announcements into a single contract would create detail the company has not supplied.

The records nevertheless show different kinds of commercial progress. An order announcement describes booked business at an identified point in time. A master agreement establishes a supply relationship whose detailed commitments depend on its terms. The public August statement is too limited to quantify those commitments.

For a competing component supplier, that is a reason to study the relationship rather than speculate about the customer’s identity. The relevant issue is how a vehicle manufacturer selects and sustains its battery supply as its own product programme develops.

Manufacturing expansion provides a separate piece of evidence

Kraken’s 2025 results, published on 16 April 2026, reported completion of a new Nova Scotia facility with more than 60,000 square feet of office and production space. The company described that facility alongside its existing German operations as support for expected subsea power demand.

This is a more concrete capacity milestone than the earlier expectation that North American manufacturing would come online. It still does not disclose the output reserved for the newly announced customer. Building space, production capacity and customer deliveries are related business facts with different measurements.

The commercial implication is that a component supplier’s proposition has to include a credible production organisation. A vehicle company evaluating a long-term relationship needs confidence that the supplier can manage changes, maintain consistency and support the product beyond an initial batch. A technical specification is only part of that assessment.

For a smaller battery or electronics business, the lesson is not that it must reproduce Kraken’s footprint. It needs to explain how its own proposed volumes would be delivered and supported. A narrow, realistic manufacturing commitment is easier for a customer to assess than an ambitious capacity claim without an associated production plan.

The acquisition changes comparisons between company totals

The August results also require care because Kraken completed its acquisition of Covelya Group on 2 July 2026, after the quarter ended. The second-quarter financial results therefore exclude Covelya’s contribution, while some order commentary in the same release uses a combined Kraken and Covelya basis.

That difference matters to readers tracking competitors. A combined order total cannot be compared directly with stand-alone quarterly revenue as though both describe the same business population and period. Nor can either number be assigned to the battery agreement.

A useful industry record should retain the reporting period, the company boundary and the type of amount beside each figure. This prevents a growing group’s acquisitions from being mistaken for growth in one product line. It also makes later updates easier to interpret when the first combined financial period is reported.

The battery relationship should consequently stand on its own disclosed terms. Broader results provide context about the organisation supporting it, not a substitute for missing contract economics.

Where the component supplier sits in the buying chain

The customer described in August manufactures underwater vehicles. Kraken’s role is therefore upstream of the finished platform’s ultimate buyer. That position can expose a component business to several end markets through the vehicle manufacturer, but it also makes demand dependent on the manufacturer’s own programme.

This differs from the Polish Navy KATFISH sale through Thesta, where Kraken identified the national end user and local partner. The two examples should occupy separate places in a sales map: one is a battery supply relationship with a vehicle producer, the other a named equipment sale associated with a naval programme.

For a hypothetical component entrant, the practical question is whether it can win a place in a manufacturer’s repeatable product configuration. That requires a proposal covering supply continuity, documentation and support as well as the component itself. The commercial discussion then follows the manufacturer’s product lifecycle rather than every potential government customer independently.

The Amprius order and capacity analysis offers a related comparison from aerial systems. In both markets, readers need to connect orders, production readiness and deliveries without treating them as the same event.

The Kraken profile provides the wider company context. This latest agreement adds a specific relationship to that picture, while leaving its financial scale open. The next decisive evidence would be disclosed purchase commitments, deliveries or a named platform connection. Until then, the documented development is a long-term place in an underwater vehicle manufacturer’s supply chain.

Sources & evidence

  1. Kraken Q2 2026 resultsKraken Robotics · 27 August 2026
  2. Kraken January 2026 SeaPower sales announcementKraken Robotics · 13 January 2026
  3. Kraken Robotics reports 2025 financial resultsKraken Robotics · 16 April 2026

Primary customer and supplier material read on 6 September 2026. Supplier statements are attributed; future milestones and undisclosed terms remain unconfirmed.

Suggest a correction